Welcome to Scoliosis & Biology!

Welcome to my blog, which explores the subject of biology with a key topic in mind: scoliosis. Scoliosis is a human spine abnormality, in which the spine is curved. It usually develops in adolescence, which is referred to as Adolescent Idiopathic Scoliosis. This disorder can be treated in several ways. The most common treatments are bracing and surgery. In bracing, a patient who is usually still growing, is given a back brace to wear for a certain number of hours each day. The brace holds the spine straight and deters it from growing more curved. The surgery for scoliosis is called spinal fusion surgery and is only used in severe cases. If the degree of curvature is so large that it interferes with heart and lung function, surgery is utilized. During the surgery, metal rods are placed around the vertebrae to force it straight and keep it from growing curved. 

My story:

When I was twelve years old I found out that I had developed moderate Adolescent Idiopathic Scoliosis. This disorder has been a challenge I have struggled with since my diagnosis. It has been a social issue, an emotional battle, and a physical discomfort for years. I underwent treatment in the form of a back brace, which was a difficult but successful process. In August 2012 I had my last (hopefully!) X-Ray for scoliosis. Now that I’m done growing, my spine isn’t as much of a problem for me and I will never require a spinal fusion surgery. 

Image

 

An X-Ray of my spine (August 2012) and the back brace I wore freshman and sophomore year of high school! 

Leave a Reply

